Username Password
Home About Us Register FAQ Today's Posts New Posts Search
 

PetOwnerTalk.com > Pet & Animal Forums > Cats » How can someone do this?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2005, 02:47 PM   #1
CatmanStix
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
How can someone do this?


I have seen this a few other places and thought I would post here. www.saveourpets.net is a complete load of garbage! Just look at what they are trying to do to those cute animals. It really makes me angry!

  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 02:54 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BC, Canada
Age: 24
Posts: 2,822
velvetrabbit will become famous soon enough
It's a scam, usually. I've seen MULTIPLE renditions of this with rabbits, where the current "owner" threatens to eat the rabbit unless a certain amount of money is received by a certain date. Most of those sites, if you look at the older ones, give no conclusive evidence that the animal was eaten or put to sleep, or what have you. Yet people are still donating money to stop that from happening. If this person doesn't get enough money by the certain date, it is quite probable (given the previous examples of this kind of site) that s/he will not put the animals to sleep in hopes of getting more money.

There's no use reporting this to PayPal, as it has been done numerous times for other sites, to no avail. Just ignore it, really. That's all you can do. You have no way of knowing if those animals are mistreated, so unless you know the people, there isn't anything you can do anyway. It's unfortunate, but these things tend to be simply scams anyway, so in all liklihood, those animals will be fine.
velvetrabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 03:38 PM   #3
Trained by Professional Chins
 
Solarsis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Burnaby, BC
Age: 29
Posts: 8,263
Solarsis will become famous soon enoughSolarsis will become famous soon enough
anyone else notice this "owner" called his ferret a rodent?

This is definitely a scam. The statements on the home page make no sense at all and if this person really hates these two pets I'm sure there is a decent shelter that would be more than happy to take them
__________________
Sophie and her bouncy furballs:

(510/1000)
Solarsis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 03:46 PM   #4
Sue Rocks!
 
veggiegirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southern CA
Age: 28
Posts: 2,732
veggiegirl will become famous soon enough
I agree. Its a really sick scam. I tried to report a rabbit one awhile ago and PayPal wouldn't do anything. They said something about not being able to shut it down because rabbits are considered to be "livestock animals." I wonder what they would say about this site since it features a cat and ferret.
__________________
veggiegirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 03:50 PM   #5
Hera
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
if you ask me those pets look like healthy "loved" and well taken care of besides why would you hold and take a ferret out of its cage if you could care less about it and if you did not like your cat why does the cat look happy and why is it inside instead of outside yup a scam
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 03:51 PM   #6
Member
 
bunnylady62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sherwood Park, Alberta
Age: 30
Posts: 444
bunnylady62 is on a distinguished road
Some people are disgusting. The animals would be better off without him.
__________________
Nina
bunnylady62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 04:12 PM   #7
Pink Floyd Fanatic
 
Floydian1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London, England
Age: 35
Posts: 79
Floydian1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Is this for real?

This is sick:

www.saveourpets.net

__________________
Ronald Hickey

Goldie : DOB 04/03/02
Goldie's Webpage
Ron's Pink Floyd Page
Floydian1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 04:17 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BC, Canada
Age: 24
Posts: 2,822
velvetrabbit will become famous soon enough
http://www.pets-on-the-net.com/forum...ad.php?t=15114
velvetrabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 05:21 PM   #9
MiSS TaM
 
TaMinKelowna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kelowna, BC
Age: 25
Posts: 41
TaMinKelowna is an unknown quantity at this point
what a nut..
__________________
I'm looking for a Sugar Glider. * Thanks *
TaMinKelowna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 08:24 PM   #10
Member
 
najiwench's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 32
Posts: 1,437
najiwench is on a distinguished road
hey, just because they think they've found a way to part some fool and their money doesn't mean they don't care for their animals...heck, i could threaten to turn Lucy into doggie steaks all day long, it doesn't mean i'd ever actually do it.

it's a shock method of getting money. the only thing that really bothers me about it is that people are actually dumb enough to give them money.
__________________
Jami
Feed the Animals!
najiwench is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 PM.

© 2006 - 2008 Pet Owner Talk Forums | About Pet Owner Talk Forums | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community
   
Profile FAQ Calendar Archive Contact
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
Designed by Vbulletinskinz.com